Concession: Assicurazioni Generali - 2011
January - March, November, December from Tuesday to Sunday
11.00am - 4.30pm
April - October 11am – 6.30pm
Last visitors admitted half an hour before closing time.
In case of acqua alta opening hours may change.
Christmas Time: closing days December 25th, January 1st
Guided tours for small groups only, subject to availability. The visit takes approximately 30 minutes.
An Icon of Twentieth-Century Architecture
returned to the Italians
Meticulous attention to detail and to the materials used combine with outstanding spatial quality to form a stunning seamless whole. This is the extraordinary tale narrated by the Negozio Olivetti in Piazza San Marco in Venice, masterpiece of Carlo Scarpa. A jewel defined by architectural historian Francesco Dal Co as "one of the brightest pages in twentieth-century Italian architecture". The setting is further embellished by Alberto Viani's Nudo al sole sculpture (1956), which the Venetian architect placed on a Belgian black marble base rippling with water. Following the careful restoration commissioned by the owners, Assicurazioni Generali, the showroom was entrusted to FAI, the Italian Environmental Foundation, which has finally opened it to the public again.
Lost and found. The story of a masterpiece.
The Negozio Olivetti, commissioned from Carlo Scarpa by Adriano Olivetti in 1957 and opened the following year, was designed as a splendid showcase for the celebrated typewriters and calculators produced in the Ivrea-based manufacturer's pursuit of quality. Shortly after its launch, it was transformed into an exhibition space for small yet prestigious art shows. In 1997 Olivetti closes its prestigious flagship store. The following year a souvenir shop was opened here, an activity not really in keeping with the fine architecture of the premises. In early 2011 the Olivetti showroom re-opened, giving visitors the opportunity to admire its pure beauty once again.